top of page
  • Chris Heunis

Rotator Cuff Explained

Updated: Sep 20, 2023

Your rotator cuff is made up of 4 muscles and their tendons that hold your upper arm bone (humerus) in place, helping stabilize the shoulder. All 4 muscles originate in your shoulder blade (scapula) with each one attaching to a different part of your humerus, forming a cuff. The acronym SITS can help you remember these four muscles, from top-bottom: Supraspinatus: Is responsible for movement away from the centre of your body (abduction). It controls the first 15 degrees of motion before the deltoid and trapezius muscles take over. Infraspinatus: This is the main muscle responsible for lateral (external) rotation of your arm away from the centre of your body. It is a thick triangular muscle, that covers the back of your shoulder blade. Teres Minor: This muscle contributes to lateral (external) rotation of the arm. It is a small and narrow muscle, on the back of the shoulder blade, below the Infraspinatus. Subscapularis: The strongest, largest, and most used of the 4 muscles. It plays an important role in medial (internal) rotation of your arm toward the centre of your body. It is a large triangular-shaped muscle that lies below the other 3. *Fun fact*

When the rotator cuff tendons are damaged, your entire shoulder can become inflamed causing painful movement. Listen to your body at all times and schedule your appointment today

Chris Heunis | Professional Practitioner

Member of CAMS (Complimentary & Alternative Medical Science) Institute The Healing Hands Group

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page